“Melt in Your Mouth Chicken” and Parmesan Baked Potato Halves

It is safe to say that I have been in a dinner rut recently. Sometimes I come home from work and the last thing I feel like doing is fixing dinner. Thankfully, I have had a good break from too much dinner fixing because of Christmas, New Years Day and all of the related festivities in between.

One thing that I was beginning to notice before the holidays was that a little pre-planning of dinner goes a long way. If I could just simply think of what the next night’s dinner was going to be ahead of time, I was ready for it when fixing time came. I would really like to get back to this planning ahead thing next week when I have to go back to the real world, so I have been scouring Pinterest to find easy (or even not-so-easy sometimes) recipes to fix on work nights.

I had off today, so I had plenty of Pinteresting time, and I came across these recipes that I pinned a long time ago: “Melt in Your Mouth Chicken” and Parmesan Baked Potato Halves. The chicken was mediocre to me (the husband loved it), but I thought the potatoes were very tasty.

Melt in Your Mouth Chicken Breast: (I halved the original recipe, so this is what I did)


image

Ingredients

2 chicken breasts (boneless, skinless)

1/2 cup mayo

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese (I am thinking shredded may have been tastier)

3/4 cup seasoned salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

Mix all of the ingredients together and spread it over the chicken. Place chicken in a baking pan. Bake at 375 degrees for 40-45 minutes.

My personal notes on this: It really was fine. There was nothing wrong with it, I am just not the biggest fan of warm mayonnaise. I knew this going in, I was just hoping it would miraculously transform into something delicious.

Parmesan Baked Potato Halves (The original recipe called for 6 small potatoes. I had large baking potatoes so this is what i did)

Ingredients

2 large baking potatoes, cut into 1/2 inch slices.
1/4 cup melted butter
Grated Parmesan Cheese
Garlic Powder
Seasoned Salt

Pour the melted butter into a 9 x 13 pan. Sprinkle the other ingredients over the butter. Place potato pieces flat into the butter and seasonings.
image

Bake at 400 degrees for 45 minutes. Then let it cool for 5 minutes to be sure the cheese sticks to the potatoes, not the pan (I used a baking stone, which tends to take a little longer to cool, so I upped it to 7 minutes).
image

Using a spatula, lift the potatoes off.
image

I loved these. They were the perfect mix of crispy and chewy. It worked out just fine to slice a larger potato instead of halving smaller ones like the original recipe called for.

The other great thing about both of these recipes is that I had all of the ingredients on hand. I did not have to go out of my way to get anything strange or out of the ordinary.

One thought on ““Melt in Your Mouth Chicken” and Parmesan Baked Potato Halves

Leave a Reply

