Day 353 – Cleaning Diamonds with Dish Detergent

Throughout my years on Pinterest, I have encountered a lot of scams and things to approach with caution. A few of these things have involved ways to clean jewelry, and I am really not willing to trust my precious wedding rings to just any nutso thing that some scammer posts. Maybe they work, but I am not willing to try.

Tonight’s pin says that the best method to clean diamonds at home is Dawn dish detergent. That seemed pretty harmless to me, so I gave it a try.

I am happy to say that this was very successful. I put a drop of detergent on the husband’s an old toothbrush and scrubbed for just a few seconds. Right away, I had beautiful sparkly diamonds.

I tried to take a before and after picture, but it wasn’t quite so successful. I like to think that the little rainbow thing proves how sparkly the Dawn got it…not the fact that I took the second picture in a different location, directly under a very large light.

image

Dirty

image

Clean

Total cost: $0

Leave a Reply

