Day 345 – Chocolate Peanut Butter Oat Bars

Tonight, I decided to make some granola bars. Mostly because it seemed fast and I had all of the ingredients already.

It is really easy because you just melt some chocolate chips, peanut butter and milk and then stir in oats. You can stir in some other things if you want to, but I stuck to the basics.

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp Chocolate Chips

2 to 3 Tbsp Peanut Butter

2 Tbsp Milk

1/2 C Oats

Optional:

1 Tsp Vanilla Extract

1 Tbsp Sweetener (Brown/White Sugar, Agave, Maple Syrup or Stevia to Taste)

1 Tbsp Other Dry Ingredients (coconut flakes, chia seeds, sunflower seeds, nuts, more chocolate chips, raisins, scoop of protein powder, etc.)

Directions:

Melt the first three ingredients together in the microwave in 30 second intervals, stirring and checking frequently. Mine took about 45 seconds

Then add the Oats and any optional ingredients, stir to combine. You want this mixture to be fairly dry.  If it’s not dry enough, add more oats one tablespoon at a time.
image

Press mixture into bars or balls.   Using a piece of plastic wrap on the inside of a square plastic container will save on dishes and cleanup.
image

Put in the refrigerator or freezer for 10 minutes, or until bars have set up.   Slice or break apart.

It makes 3 granola bar sized bars, which seems like not many, but it’s good for a quick easy snack.

I followed this recipe almost exactly. The only change I made was mixing 2 Hershey’s Kisses in with the chocolate chips. I added fewer chocolate chips to try to get as close to 2 tbs as I could. I thought the mixture of semi sweet and milk chocolate would be a good combination. It was.

I put them in the refrigerator for much more than 10 minutes. I’d say closer to 20 or 30, but they didn’t really set up. Here is my “bar”:
image

It tasted good though, so I would say it is worth making. Maybe leaving out the Kisses would have made it a little harder, but it’s not too bad being a little squishy.

If I had to pick which recipe I liked better, I would pick these other bars instead.

Total cost: $0

Leave a Reply

