Day 340 – Frozen Dog Treats and Fort

Today is another twofer. Mostly because I have this adorable niece who said “What Pinterest project are we going to do today?” right after we made dog treats for a half hour.

I tried to explain to her that we just did a Pinterest project, but she said “Yeah, I know, but I mean the kid kind of Pinterest project!” and then bugged me to look through my boards. Sometimes she is too cute to resist.

Let’s start with the dog treats:

When we first got our little pooch nearly 8 years ago (when she was just a teeny tiny 2 pounds 6 ounces), we vowed not to feed her people food. There have been a few times when she has managed to get some scraps (mostly from her Grandmaw and Grandpaw), but she is really not exposed to much other than her dog food. She doesn’t seem to mind.

So when I decided to make these treats out of all human food, I was a little unsure of how her stomach would react. However, in the interest of fun, I thought I would give them a try.

They are completely kid friendly to make. I told Alyssa what to do, and she did every step on her own. She loved it!
image

image

image

Here is the recipe:

32 oz. plain yogurt

1 mashed ripe banana

2 tablespoons peanut butter

2 tablespoons honey

Mix all of the ingredients with a blender or mixer and freeze in ice cube trays. Small paper cups and disposable egg cartons also make good molds. When frozen, microwave for a few seconds, unmold, and place the treats in a plastic bag and store in the freezer. (Note: if using Styrofoam egg cartons or cups, rest the containers briefly in a partially filled pan of warm water to loosen contents. Unless the Styrofoam is labeled as microwave safe, it could melt.) If you want to be fancy, bone and paw shaped molds are available.

 

Jolie was curious about it at first, but then she scarfed it down.

 

Project #2: A Fort

Alyssa saw this on my Pinterest page and wanted to make it. I happened to have 2 tension rods available (sort of…one was holding purses in my closet), but one of them was a little too short to fit the width of my hallway. I put a tray table next to the wall to give it just a little bit of extra space so it would fit. Then we draped a sheet over both rods and I cut a door out. Then I sewed some Velcro dots on to keep the door shut. I assured her that our fort would not be nearly as cute as the one on the picture, and she was fine with that.
image

 

Then she decided she wanted to draw things on it to make it look like the one in the picture.

image

Could this fort get any cuter?

 

Total cost $3.23

 

Leave a Reply

