Day 332 – Running in the Heat

Last night I got this brilliant idea to go running in the mountains of Virginia when I woke up. The plan was to get up early, before the heat set in, and take a quick jog around the neighborhood where we are staying.

Then my alarm went off sometime in the 6s this morning and I decided that was inhumanely early to get up when there was no real reason that I needed to.

So I went back to sleep until just before 8. Just about the time the temperatures were rapidly reaching the 80s.

Alas, I decided that I needed to do it since I said I was going to. I decided to follow some of the guidelines that this website suggest for running in the heat.

1. Pick sunrise or sunset: Well, I missed sunrise and by sunset I knew I would not be feeling like running. It was close enough to sunset right?

2. Mind the 90 degree line: The temperature was 78 when I first looked. That’s not unreasonable. I am pretty sure it was hotter than that by the time I got dressed and outside.

3. Bottoms up: They wanted me to drink 8-12 ounces of water before I went out. I struggled with that. I felt like the water would be sloshing all around in my stomach so I had a bunch of sips, but it is hard to say how much I had.

4. Field the heat: This was the part that I really followed. It gave a little guide for how to run in different temperatures. I will spare you the specifics because you could just click the link to read it for yourself, but it said things like over 104 degrees you should stay inside (did you need a website to tell you that?). It also said this:

Between 80 and 90 degrees:
Keep workouts shorter than usual and moderate, like this routine from Rosetti.

  • 0 to 10 minutes: Jog at an easy, conversational pace.
  • 10 to 15 minutes: Run at a harder pace (90 percent of maximum heart rate) for 30 seconds, followed by a 30-second recovery jog. Repeat four times.
  • 15 to 25 minutes: Jog at an easy, conversational pace.

My plan was to follow that pretty specifically. I started off slower than I usually do. I took it easy. It was really nice because I was on a downhill for the start, so I just let gravity take control and tried not to go too fast. I had visions of falling face first down the mountain…thankfully that didn’t happen. Then I picked up the pace a little bit right before I knew that I was going to have to go up hill for a while. I figured that would be a bad spot to start running hard.

Then that hill came and the whole plan went out the window. Hill is not enough of a word to describe this. I always refuse to walk when I say that I am going for a “run” and I needed to walk up this thing. I knew I had not been gone very long, so I went off on a side street that had some rolling hills so I could get some more distance. I made it through the ups and downs of that road with only walking a tiny bit, and then continued to walk the rest of the way up the huge hill until I made it back.

I am embarrassed to say that I only ran/walked 1.5 miles and I felt like I was going to die. D.I.E. My legs were burning; my lungs were burning; sweat was pouring out of my skin. It was a mess! I will stick to my regular coastal plains terrain.

image

Saw this guy on my way.


image

The hill

Total cost: $0

Leave a Reply

