Day 325 – Cleaning a Leather Couch

In case you didn’t notice, I have been through a lot of Pinterest trials over these past few months. Some things work out really successfully…and some things just don’t. Usually when they don’t work out, it is on a low risk thing like food. You can always fix a peanut butter and jelly sandwich if your dinner turns out to be gross. But if you try a cleaning remedy on your couch and it doesn’t work…you have made a thousand dollar mistake. I am not interested in that.

I took to Pinterest, thinking that I would find brilliant ideas to clean some spots off of my couch, but everything I read left me with a feeling of “I don’t think I should do that.”
image

image

One suggested I use rubbing alcohol. I thought that might be a little harsh. One suggested dish soapy water. My dish soap had a bleach alternative in it and I worried about splotching. I just worried about everything related to cleaning this dumb couch. I don’t even like leather couches, but I lost the leather couch fight and now I kind of want it to stay nice as long as possible.

So when this post suggested a damp cloth with just water, I thought it seemed pretty harmless. I also thought it would be ineffective because it was just water. Surprisingly, the spots came right off. I am not sure what they were, but they are not there any longer, and my couch is perfectly unharmed.
image

Total cost: $0

Leave a Reply

