Day 323 – Pipe Cleaner Chameleon and Flower Headband

Today was a hang out with the niece day. She was feeling a little under the weather, but she was bored of watching TV so we scanned through Pinterest to see what we could get into. She landed on this really cute pipe cleaner chameleon, but unfortunately there was no tutorial. I was there to help guide her, but I wanted to let her take the lead so that this was her creation. We looked at the picture and she did some twirling and twisting of the pipe cleaners. Here is what she ended up with. Not too shabby if you ask me:
image

A little later in the day, she got the idea that we each make separate crafts for each other. She worked in the  bedroom while I worked in the dining room. Every now and then she would come out to get scissors and then she would scurry back. Then she would come get tape and a ruler and scurry back. I really had no idea what she was doing, but I let her work. While she was going, I made her this headband:

image

It was really simple. I think I put the flowers a little too high on the headband itself, but it looked really cute on her little head. I also don’t love that I wrapped the metal headband frame in white ribbon and the flowers are cream colored, but it was the best I could do with what I had.

The craft she made for me was these awesome slippers:
image

They actually fit me and I wore them around the house for a little bit. She is a hoot!

Total cost: $0 for the chameleon (the supplies were already accounted for in an Easter project)

$0.99 for the headband. I found it on clearance a while ago and knew that I could use it for a future Pinterest project.

Leave a Reply

