Day 320 – Sandwich Bacon

Don’t you just hate it when you have a bacon and egg sandwich and then you bite into it and you don’t get any bacon?

That’s where this sandwich bacon comes in. It is one of those a-ha moments where you thump your palm to your forehead and think Why have I never done this before?

I cut my pound of bacon in half so the pieces were shorter. Then I froze the other half for future use. There are just 2 of us, and while the husband would not have a problem eating the whole pound of bacon, I just can’t let that happen. Now that the pieces were tinier, they can be woven together to be about the size of a piece of bread.

First, I set 3 pieces down next to each other vertically. Then I wove 3 more pieces horizontally through those first 3 pieces. I baked it in the oven for about 15 minutes at 400 degrees.

image

I am really happy with how this turned out. I will definitely do it again!

Total cost: $2

Leave a Reply

