Day 318 – Chicken Pot Pie Cupcakes and Raspberry Lemonade Cake

You read that right…today is a two-fer!

It is also the day that I got to meet my (second) newest family member (babies are being born all over this family!)

As per the momma’s (my cousin) request, I experimented some Pinterest on her and her husband. They live in DC, which brings on quite the adventure for me. I have never driven into DC before, but I figured I could do it. I drive all over the place on roads. I know the rules of roads. I know that red means stop and green means go. I can drive. I. Can. Drive. (That was the pep talk I gave myself before agreeing to this) So drive I did. My GPS said 31 miles, 54 minutes. That let me understand just how much traffic I was in for. And that was at 10:30 which is after rush hour. Yippee! *Cue pep talk here*

Everything was going surprisingly smoothly. I got behind this lady who had a roll of paper towels in her back window and I kind of just kept her in my sights. She seemed to be going the same place as me (like I could tell…) so I figured as long as she was in front of me, I could just follow her cue. That worked like a charm until Dupont Circle. That place is the craziest place I think I have ever driven. Ever. To this very minute I don’t completely know what I did wrong, but people were honking at me and I was a little stressed. After some strategic maneuvering, I got to where I needed to be, and was able to make my turn out of that dreaded circle of death. Never Again! I will drive 45 minutes out of my way if needed to not bother with that madness again!

But after that it was a lovely neighborhood drive. I arrived safely and had some quality snuggle time with this beauty:
image

While I was there, I made some chicken pot pie cupcakes. They were amazing and since the link does not take you to an actual tutorial, just pictures, I thought I would let you know what I did so when you make them, you don’t have to guess.

Ingredients:

Chopped, cooked chicken

1 can of cream of chicken soup

1 tube of biscuits (I am pretty sure any kind would work for this)

Mixed Vegetables

Shredded cheese

Directions:

1. Spray the pan with cooking spray.

2. Put 2/3 of a biscuit in each cup. Smush it down so it flattens on the bottom and the sides.

(My pack of Grands Buttermilk Biscuits came with 8, but I had a 12-cup muffin tin. So I put about 2/3 of a biscuit in each muffin cup. You be the judge of what works best for your biscuits for this step)

3. In a separate bowl, mix the cream of chicken soup with 1/4 to 1/3 of a soup can of water. It should be pretty thick. Add the chicken and mixed vegetables. I did not add the vegetables in this step, but I wish that I did. I just ended up sprinkling them on top. That would work too.

4. Sprinkle some cheese on top.

5. Bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes.

image

image

I really loved these and plan on making them again. They were awesome and cute!

For dessert we had StrawberryRaspberry Lemonade Cake.

I will spare you the details of the recipe because this link has a good one on it. I just made a few minor changes that did not affect the outcome at all. The recipe calls for either raspberry lemonade yogurt or greek yogurt. I could not find raspberry lemonade, so i went with regular raspberry. Also, it calls for a packet of Raspberry Lemonade Crystal Light. I really thought I had some of this, but I didn’t. I had Strawberry Lemonade so I used that instead. It was so delicious. I can’t wait to finish typing this so I can have another piece of it! The Cool Whip on top was a great addition. It would have even been tasty with some fresh berries on the Cool Whip too.
image

Total cost: Chicken Pot Pies: $5.47 (That’s $1.82 per person. Baby Evie didn’t have any.)

StrawberryRaspberry Lemonade Cake: $2.98

One thought on “Day 318 – Chicken Pot Pie Cupcakes and Raspberry Lemonade Cake

  1. Pingback: Chicken Pot Pie Recipe | 365 Days of Pinterest

Leave a Reply

