Day 296 – Lemon Whip with Strawberries and Blueberries

Oh Pinterest…

Approximately mid-day yesterday, I got this idea for a time-filler to play with the kids. It was a double whammy – child occupier and Pinterest Project all wrapped up in one.

And then I got home and realized that I needed to make a dessert for a luncheon the next day (today).

At this point in my 365 Days of Pinterest, the last thing I want to do is 2 projects in one day. I was so excited that my project was done for the day before I made it home from work. Those feelings of excitement were exchanged for aggravation at the thought of making a mess in my kitchen for something that I would not even need until the next day.

So instead, I woke up at 5:30 this morning and got to fixing. That will show you Pinterest!

The recipe was quite easy to prepare. I chose it because it looked like a fun way to use some of the fresh strawberries that I was afraid would go bad. I also added some blueberries.

Ingredients:

2 boxes of lemon Jello (3 oz each) (I used generic)

2 cups of boiling water

1 package of cream cheese (8 oz)

2 cups Sprite

12 oz Cool Whip

Berries

Directions:

Dissolve the gelatin in the boiling water. Using an electric mixer beat in the cream cheese. Stir in Sprite.

Refrigerate for about 45 minutes. Using the electric mixer beat in the Cool Whip.

Spoon into pretty glass dishes and chill. Top with red and blue berries and garnish with lemon or more Cool Whip. Serves 8.

So I understand if you just skimmed the recipe and did not read it carefully, but if you look back at the part that said “mix up some junk and then refrigerate for 45 minutes,” that is where I feel mislead. I was under the impression that after 45 minutes, this would be thick and whippy, but when I opened my refrigerator, it was just as soupy as it had been.

The next direction is to spoon it into dishes and chill, but the picture showed berries in between layers. If I put berries in this soup, they would all fall straight to the bottom. Then I realized that my Cool Whip container was only 8 ounces, so I thought that must be part of the problem. Unfortunately the only store close to me does not open until 8:00 and it was only 6:30. That meant that I had to stop at the store on the way to work to get more Cool Whip.

I brought my hand mixer to work and whipped in some Cool Whip right on my teacher group table. And it was still just as soupy. I still couldn’t put the finished product together. I shoved it into the refrigerator and hoped that a good chilling would do the trick. About 3 hours later, it was perfect. I guess it wasn’t supposed to be ready immediately, but nothing in the directions made me believe this. (Upon further analysis of the recipe, it does say to spoon into dishes and chill. I read that this morning, but I thought it would be thicker. I guess that’s what cooking with morning brain will get you…)

I smoothed some of the whip into the bottom of a pretty bowl, added some berries, spread some more whip on top and made it pretty with some leftover Cool Whip and berries. It turned out to be very delicious. And I don’t usually love lemony things.
image

Total cost: $0.56 x 2 for the Great Value Lemon Gelatin, $0.84 for Twist Up (generic sprite), had the cream cheese for a while, $1.99 for Cool Whip #1 (a little pricey because I had to use the little local store nearby…I forgot to get it at Walmart earlier in the night), and $0.99 for the second bout of Cool Whip. That brings us to a grand total of…… $4.94

Leave a Reply

