Day 290 – If You Can’t Get Out of it, Get Into It

One thing you need to know before we start is that Dunkin’ Donuts’ chicken salad sandwich is NOT enough for dinner. While it is not so bad in the taste department, it is simply not enough for someone as hungry as me. More on that later…

Tonight, after a fabulous 5th grade night at my school, I came home and decided to “be happier in [my] home.” Sometimes I get a little burned out on life and I get wrapped up in the world of the internet or other various distracting tools, and then I get frustrated when I realize that there were about 47 things I could have done around my house.

This website challenges its readers to be happier in their homes by doing simple little things to make life happier. I really recommend reading it and if nothing else, it will give you something to think about.

I liked a lot of what I read, but I just picked one for tonight since I was low on time and energy.

5. If you can’t get out of it, get into it.

This tip comes from The Happiness Project. I love the message: The dishes are not going to clean themselves, so you will do it, and you will like it! (Unless, of course, you can outsource this job, in which case I say: Nice work!) Otherwise, get into doing the dishes. Feel the soothing warm water on your hands. Enjoy the tickle of the tiny bubbles. Crank your favorite album at an unusually loud volume, do a couple fist-pumps while shouting “Can I get a hell yeah for the dishes? Hell! Yeah!” and pretend you love it.

So I can’t pretend that I love to scrub the bathtub. In fact, of all of the household chores, that is quite possibly at the bottom of my list. Give me toilets above bathtubs any day. But it was time. I had cleaned the rest of the bathroom (except the tub and the floor) a few days ago, but I was not interested in doing the rest. So tonight, while the husband was watching boring Game of Thrones (he’s not caught up yet, no spoilers please!), I decided that I would “Get into” cleaning the bathroom.

I pumped up the volume on my favorite sing-along-to Pandora station–Wicked Radio. It plays songs from musicals like Wicked and Rent, as well as Disney Broadway shows and movies. It is pretty much the perfect mixture of my favorite songs. Everything is more fun when you can belt out Popular just like Kristin Chenowith and Idina Menzel. Before I knew it, the tub was scrubbed and the floor was mopped. It even helped me accomplish a bit more because I was in the middle of singing Friend Like Me from Aladdin, so I continued to do some other things that needed to be done. I was ready to keep going except for the fact that my stomach would not stop growling. I was so hungry from the lack of dinner I had that I had to stop my Pinterest project to have a second dinner.

Total cost: $0

Leave a Reply

