Day 285 – Revamping a Birthday Candle

Tomorrow is my favorite niece’s birthday party and I have been commissioned to make her cake. Usually I am not in charge of supplying the candle, and perhaps there are already candle plans in the works, but I couldn’t pass up a Pinterest project, so I went for it anyway.

I bought this candle at Walmart for $1:
image

 

I started by covering the red stripe with purple glitter. My plan was to add sequins like they did in the picture, but as I started to place them, I felt it was beginning to look gaudy. I only had primary colors and silver and gold. The silver pieces were too big for that small of an area and the other colors just did not fit. I was beginning to like the look of the painted stars in conjunction with the glitter. Any other things that I tried to do to it just seemed overdone.
image

Sometimes less is more…

 

Total cost: $1

Leave a Reply

