Day 274 – Cleaning Windshield Haze

Tonight, on my way home from work, I drove directly into the sun. It really felt like I was headed right for it. I couldn’t see a thing…except for that annoying windshield haze that is so hard to get rid of.

I have to admit that I don’t really wash the windows in my car. My mom yells at me about it every time that she drives my car. It’s just that I hate streaky windows and every time I try to clean them, that’s what I end up with. But since I have avoided cleaning it for a really really long time, it was pretty bad. I was starting to notice it even when the sun was not directly shining right on it.

So tonight, I decided it was time for action. Surely there would be some Pinterest project to clear it away. After a quick search, I found this sentence on a website:

Remove haze from glassware. (Just soak, rinse, and air dry.) It’s also great for removing the haze that accumulates on the inside of my car’s windshield, which I’ve heard actually comes from (ick) the fumes emitted by dashboard vinyl.

If you notice, there is not much of a description for what to do. I wasn’t really sure, so I just made it up. I poured about half water and half vinegar into a spray bottle. Then I sprayed a paper towel and scrubbed the window. Immediately, I could tell that the haze was lifting. It seemed quite successful, so I kept going on all of the windows, inside and out. It did not do a great job scrubbing off dead bug splatter, but otherwise, it was quite successful. It even got the niece and nephew fingerprints off of the rear windshield that I have been meaning to get for a little while now too.

The real test will be driving into the sun. I usually do that on my way to work in the mornings, so I am hoping tomorrow I am as happy with the vinegar spray as I am right now.

Total cost: $0

Leave a Reply

