Day 272 – Reaching a Running Goal

Image

It is true. Running is mostly a mental game. You can trick your mind into thinking you either can or can not do anything.

I have been running on and off for the past 10 or so years and I have come to learn that mentally, if I pass my house with the intentions of continuing to run, I have the most difficult time. It’s like I see my house and my body just quits on me. I am more of an out and back kind of runner. I like to run to the halfway point of my distance and turn around, knowing that I have less than half of the way to go with every step I take on the way back. Mental games!

My most recent mental game was that I decided I wanted to run a 5k in less than 30 minutes. My regular runs took me to somewhere around 31 or 32 minutes, but I never could break it.

Well, today I did, officially. I had done it a few times in practice over the past few weeks, but today, it was in print. I did it in 29 minutes and 22 seconds. It’s not way under 30 minutes, but it is under! And it is the fastest that I had done it in any of my practices. I can live with that!

Total cost: $0 for breaking the goal, but $40 for the race…this is a pricey hobby!

Leave a Reply

