Day 268 – Zucchini Chips

A friend from work had suggested I make some zucchini chips one day, so when I was at the store yesterday, I bought a zucchini.

Many times, I adjust recipes to suit my needs, only to find that the person who created the recipe really knew what they were talking about and I should have just listened. To avoid frustration, I followed the recipe exactly.

1 zucchini, sliced in large rounds at an angle
1/4 cup milk
1/4 cup panko bread crumbs
2 tablespoons plain bread crumbs
2 generous tablespoons grated cheese
1/4 teaspoon salt + pepper
sprinkling of cayenne powder or crushed red pepper flakes (optional)
Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Pour the milk in one small bowl and both bread crumbs, cheese, cayenne and salt and pepper in another bowl. Dip the zucchini rounds in the milk, then the crumbs mixture, pressing down to adhere the crumbs to the zucchini. Place on a wire rack coated with cooking spray on top of a cookie sheet, and bake for 30 minutes.
 
I put them in for 30 minutes, and then got busy doing laundry and other assorted household tasks. When the timer went off, I was quite disappointed to see that many of them had burned. I think that I cut them too thinly. I thought I should cut them pretty thin because they were supposed to be “chips” so I wanted them to feel chippy. Some of the thicker ones turned out quite well and they are very tasty. I have about 1/2 a zucchini left that I did not bake, so maybe I will try it again tomorrow. I will just lower the time and keep my eye on it more often while it is cooking…you live and learn…
image

 
Total cost: $1.01
Leave a Reply

