Day 264 – Cake Design

Tomorrow we are hosting a baby shower for my cousin, and I got elected to make the cake. I have made a few cakes in my day, so I figured this would be a breeze.

Except that I was really struggling with an idea that I thought I could execute successfully. Finally, last night, I saw this cake, and decided to use it as the basis of my idea.

Without giving too much away, here is a sneak peek at what I have done so far:
image

Total cost: Making a cake yourself isn’t quite all that cheap. This took 1 dozen eggs, 2+ pounds of powdered sugar, and more butter than you need to know about.

And it is delicious!

Here are some of the other cakes that I have done:

Dolphin Cake Jake and the Neverland Pirates Cake Pirate Cake Toy Story Cake Wedding Cake

UPDATE: here is the finished cake:
image
I found some beautiful azaleas in my parents’ yard, so I snatched some for an elegant topper (I washed them of course). This was for a joint baby shower for one cousin and bridal shower for another. We don’t know if the baby will be a boy or a girl, that’s why we have the pink and blue.

Leave a Reply

