Day 260 – Cream Cheese Stuffed Chicken

“After all of this Pinteresting, I am really disappointed that we don’t have more Pinterest for Dinner.”

I heard that quote a few weeks ago while writing my blog and I realized just how true it was. There are thousands of recipes on Pinterest, and I have done hardly any. I realized after tonight that it is because following a recipe is often quite a bit more involved than my usual throwing something in the oven to cook for a while.

This recipe was quite simple, yet slightly time consuming.

Ingredients:

4-6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I used one large and cut it in half the long way)
4 ounces softened cream cheese
1 tablespoon of chopped parsley (I used a mixture of other seasonings…oregano, basil, and some herb mixture that I had)
1 tablespoon of onion, minced
2 teaspoons of lemon juice
1/4 cup flour
1/2 teapoon garlic salt (I used garlic powder and added some extra salt)
1/8 teaspoon pepper
1 egg, beaten
1/2 cup corn flake crumbs (I used Panko bread crumbs)Pre-heat oven to 350.
Place chicken breasts between sheets of wax paper. Use a rolling pin, flatten to around 1/4 inch thick. (How do people successfully accomplish this?? It slipped all over the place and then I smashed my thumbs under the rolling pin as it slipped off of the chicken. After that fiasco, I just beat it with the flat side of my meat tenderizer. I couldn’t get it down to 1/4 inch, but I needed to move on after I felt like Mel Gibson as he was killing that Redcoat in The Patriot)
In a bowl, beat cream cheese, parsley, onion, garlic salt and pepper and lemon juice until blended.
image
Spoon 2 tablespoons of the cream cheese mixture on each piece of chicken. (As I am writing this, I realized that I probably would have been ok to use less cream cheese mixture since I used less chicken. It worked out alright anyway)
image
Roll chicken. Coat rolls with flour, dip in egg mixture, then roll in corn flakes.
image
Drizzle some olive oil in a large skillet. Cook over medium heat. Make sure to brown on all sides. Place chicken rolls in a baking dish. Bake for 30 minutes or until chicken is fork tender and juices run clear.
image
It was pretty tasty. You should give it a try.
Total cost: $2.98 for the cream cheese and minced onion
Leave a Reply

