Bonus Post – Guest Blogger

Disclaimer: I am in no way as witty or talented as my wife.  I mean, did you read that tear jerker she wrote about her grandmother’s buttons? I wish we had a mysterious benefactor that paid all of our bills so she could take the time to seriously pursue this whole writing thing.  Ok, Ok, I know you came for Pinterest and not mush, here it is…

So my wife’s Pinterest addiction led me to check out the site.  While I would like to say it was a one time thing, I can’t.  Where else can you find patio tables made out of old wooden pallets, every e-card created, and recipes for frozen Captain Morgan popsicles? Ok, so I guess you could go to each site that they were pinned from, but I’m way too lazy for that. I need my internet sites to be one stop shops (not to be confused with “one take jakes” which we will cover later).  I seem to start an unusually high amount of sentences with “I saw this thing on Pinterest…” I’ve come to terms with this.

This past Saturday was a beautiful day for a wedding.  I’m too old to be a pimp from Oakland or a cowboy from Arizona (if you know what movie that quote is from, we can be friends).  Luckily we had friends getting married (if you still haven’t figured out where that last quote is from, we obviously have different movie tastes).  This wedding seemed different to me and it wasn’t just because I had never been to a Catholic wedding before or the fact that the groom was from a different country. Then it hit me…the pastor said the right name, they actually exchanged their vows, and his wedding ring hadn’t been crushed in a work accident.  At least we have a funny story from our wedding, right?

One of my favorite parts of going to a wedding is wearing a suit and tie.  It seems funny to say that out loud, but it’s the truth.  Maybe it’s because I don’t have to wear one everyday to work. Maybe it’s because I (not so) secretly watch Project Runway and think I have a pretty good idea of what looks fashionable and which designers failed to “make it work.”  Or maybe it’s because Justin Timberlake sings catchy songs about wearing a suit and tie and they get stuck in your head. Don’t judge, if it’s good enough for Jay Z, he’s earned my approval. 

There’s a problem though. I hate tying a tie. Hate it! My only hope is that I can get it to be straight and the right length. I knew there were different knots but I wasn’t really worried about them.  But the last time I had to wear a tie, I was really annoyed with how large the knot was and no matter what I did I couldn’t get it any skinnier. So this time I turned to Pinterest for help.  At first all I saw were skinny ties. But I’m not Joel McHale or in my 20s so I really don’t think that’s an option. Finally I saw this pin that gave a couple different options.  I tried the 4 in hand knot……Boom, first time. One-take Jake (there it is). That was enough for me.  I was sold. I think the shocked look on K’s face said it all. I had built in 20 minutes in my head when getting ready.  Including searching for a pin, my total time was 3 minutes. 

By the time the next wedding rolls around I might have to search for a different pin to help. We will see. As my friend Heidi Klum says “In fashion, one day you are in and the next day you’re out.”

One thought on “Bonus Post – Guest Blogger

Leave a Reply

