Day 240 – Headband Holder

Sometimes I pin things, only to be disappointed that there is no tutorial. Tonight, I decided that that was no reason not to give something a try, so I am going to make my own tutorial to make a headband holder from grosgrain ribbon (which is my second favorite type of ribbon after jacquard of course).

Supplies:

  • Two coordinating colors of grosgrain ribbon. (I think that any other type of ribbon would not be sturdy enough for this type of project.) I chose widths of 1 1/2 inches and 7/8 inches. I do not think this detail matters though.
  • Coordinating thread and needle or sewing machine.
  • Straight pins
  • Measuring tape
  • Hot glue gun
  • A scrap of ribbon for the hook at the top

Pin the skinnier ribbon to the wide ribbon at the top and measure down 3 inches. Place a pin in the top ribbon only to mark the 3 inch spot.
image

Fold the ribbon under 1 1/2 inches and pin to the base layer. Use the 3 inch marking pin to know where your loop should end. This will help all of the loops be the same length. This step should create the loop where the headbands will hang.
image

Continue doing this for as many loops as you would like to create. I made 8.

Starting at the bottom (that’s what I did, you could probably start at the top too), sew 4-5 stitches on the 1 1/2 inch folded under piece to tack it to the base ribbon. You can remove the pins each time you go because you are almost finished!
image

When you reach the top, sew across the width of the two ribbons to keep them together. It does not have to be pretty because you will be covering it up.
image

Fold the top over 1/4 – 1/2 inch and sew it again to create a finished edge.

Create a loop with your scrap of ribbon and hand stitch it to the top of the headband holder.

Using a piece of the remaining top ribbon, wrap it around the top of the holder to hide any ugly stitching. Affix it with hot glue on the back. *It is important to cut grosgrain ribbon at an angle so it does not fray as easily. (Some people melt the fibers using a candle…this scares me quite a bit, so I choose to stick to the angle thing)
image

Clip the bottom end of the holder off at an angle and…
image

Congratulations! Now you get to go organize your kid’s hair stuff!

I, on the other hand, get to give this to my very adorable niece who has more headbands than anyone I know. Her mom gets to organize her stuff instead of me!

Total cost: $2 or so (I lost the receipt and bought this stuff a while ago…)

2 thoughts on “Day 240 – Headband Holder

  1. Thank You!!! I just pinned the same pin you probably saw originally only to be sad that there weren’t any instructions. I’m not super crafty and haven’t used a sewing machine in *years* and figured this would be a good one to get my feet wet with.

Leave a Reply

