Day 220 – Cheesy Sour Cream Baked Potato

Potatoes are one of my favorite foods so when I saw this idea, I knew I had to try it. Unfortunately, the Pin took me to a series of pictures, but no directions.

I do not promise that this is what the picture people did, but if you want to do what I did, keep reading.
image

First, to hurry the baking process along, I put 3 potatoes (pierced with a fork) in the microwave for 2 minutes, then I turned them over and put them on for 2 more minutes.

Once they were soft enough, I sliced them partially way through, but not too thinly. Then I put some butter in between the slices and sprinkled them with salt. I baked them at 350 degrees for about 15-20 minutes, hoping they would get browned a little. I think if I had broiled them, or had the temperature up higher, it would have gotten a little crispier.

Next, I put some cheese down in the slits and put them back in for about 5 more minutes.

Last, I sprinkled some more cheese over the top. On one potato, I put some sour cream on top and then the cheese. Then I baked them for about 5 more minutes until the cheese was melted.

I thought they turned out pretty tasty. I liked the one with the sour cream the best. I was unsure because I generally don’t like sour cream, but I think it added the perfect touch. Plus, the container was so little and cute, how could you not love it?
image

Total cost: $1.50

Leave a Reply

