Day 219 – Crocheting a Magic Circle

Here is a history of how I learned to crochet:

2003-2004: All of my college friends learned to crochet and I thought that was pretty boring looking and told everyone they could make me a blanket. (No one ever did by the way)

2004-2008: I did a bunch of stuff.

2008: We had a roomie reunion at my house and some friends brought some crocheting things. I decided to learn how to do it that day. Also, later that day, I said “This really sucks” and quit.

200–something: I decided that maybe crocheting would be a fun thing to try, so I asked my favorite crochet instructor (my mom) how to do it. She taught me the basics, and I decided to make a blanket. It was the Fourth of July of some year when I decided to do that because I remember sitting in a field crocheting away, waiting for fireworks to start. 2009 maybe?

200–something else, I realized that my blanket was really crooked and I quit. It is still in a bag in my closet because I need to find something else to do with all that yarn. Also, I can’t bear to unravel it all yet. I need a really good project to make it worth it.

2011: My mom found a pattern for a spiral scarf and I gave it a try. It was a quick project where I felt successful, and I really took off with it. I made a few scarves.

2012: I started a crazy Pinterest blog and I found a pattern for another scarf and gave it a try. It was also successful.

2013: I decided that I wanted to try making a hat, but I had no idea how to crochet in a circle.

March 26, 2013: I decided to try the “magic circle” to see if I have what it takes to make something like a hat. It took me a few tries, but once I realized what they were trying to get me to do, I think I became pretty successful. Maybe sometime before the next 3-5 years, I will actually make a hat.

(dontholdyourbreath)
image

Total cost: $0

Leave a Reply

