Day 217 – Greek Yogurt Pancakes

Have you noticed that Greek yogurt is kind of trendy? It’s funny to think that foods can be trends, but it is true. Bottled water: Trend. Bacon: Trend. Guacamole: Trend. I’m not sure how trends really start, but before you know it, you see it everywhere. Maybe it’s because some famous person was seen leaving a grocery store with a (reusable) bag full of Greek yogurt. Maybe it’s because Pinterest exists and people share ideas and latch on to the same ones. Whatever the cause, Greek yogurt is definitely hot these days…(and not in the gross, oops I forgot to put it in the fridge, kind of a way).

I really hate Greek yogurt. There is something about the texture that I can’t embrace, so I choose to steer clear of it unless it is mixed in things. That’s why I decided to give these pancakes a try. They only used 4 ingredients: 1/2 cup of flour, 1 egg, 1 teaspoon of baking soda, and a container of Greek yogurt (6 oz, but it turns out that mine was 5.3 and it worked out fine). 

1. Stir the yogurt. I used Yoplait vanilla. It was on sale and I thought vanilla would be tastier than plain. A fruit yogurt probably would have been tasty for this recipe too.

2. Add the egg to the yogurt cup and stir it around. There was not a lot of extra room in the cup, so this proved to be quite messy, but it was nice to have fewer dishes.

3. Place a “scant” 1/2 cup of flour and 1 teaspoon of baking soda into a bowl. I chose to use whole wheat flour.

4. Stir in the yogurt and egg mixture.

5. To add a little more flavor, I also added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract.

6. Pour some batter into a sprayed, nonstick pan. The original recipe said to wait for it to bubble, but that never really seemed to happen, so I turned it when it felt right. These were very thick, so they needed to be turned a few times.

I made some pancakes a few weeks ago, and I have to say that I like these a bit better. Maybe because they aren’t quite as healthy, I’m not sure. But I definitely like these. Next time I will make them with some fruit yogurt.
image

Total cost: $1

Leave a Reply

