Day 206 – Homemade Mod Podge

Way back when I first heard about Mod Podge, I bought some. I am nearly positive that that was when I was in college. I graduated in 2004. Is there an expiration date on that stuff? Because I have only bought Mod Podge once.

My jar is finally almost gone, and I have a few Pinterest ideas that require Mod Podge in the near future. Some people boast about the fact that making Mod Podge saves money, but I bet I can spare the change if the next bottle lasts as long as the first. I pretty much only made this because I have a blog about doing a Pinterest activity every day for a year.

I mixed together approximately 1/2 and 1/2 water and Elmer’s glue. I went a little heavier on the glue than the water, but I can always thin it out later. I am going to give this a try in a day or so…I will let you know how it works! So far, the consistency looks and feels very much like my 10 or so year-old Mod Podge.

 

image

Up-cycled salsa jar!

Total cost: $0 (I found a large bottle of glue tucked away in a closet!)

Leave a Reply

