Day 202 – Curling Hair with a Flat Iron

Pretty much every morning of my life is spent straightening my hair. I don’t have particularly curly hair, but it sort of has a mind of its own. Sometimes I feel like Monica from Friends when she went to The Bahamas. I have millions of strands of hair that frizz out (especially in high humidity), making a fuzzy halo that follows me around all day. I usually end up pulling my hair into a ponytail or messy knot just so I don’t have to deal with it. I spent about 25 years of my life dealing with this madness until one day I had had enough and I got a flat iron. I eventually became addicted and now I rarely go a day without using it. I usually take off on the weekends to give my hair a rest, but when I have somewhere important to go, I still use it.
I found This pin that shows how a flat iron can be used to give some wave to hair. I figured if I started with a straight base to control my frizz and then tried this curling thing, it just might work.
I was very successful with the strands closest to the front, but it got a little tricky to do as well in the back. My hair is really thick, so I had to be careful not to grab gigantic chunks. It definitely worked better with smaller pieces.
This hairstyle is fun for a change. I will probably give it a try again.

image

Not the greatest pic but maybe you can at least get the idea.

Total cost: $0

Leave a Reply

