Day 198 – Glitter Sugar

Happy state testing week!

Just kidding…it’s not really happy. More like bored out of your mind for 2 hours week. Those kiddos are troopers though, and most of them really do give it everything they’ve got. To reward that, I made them some cookies to celebrate finishing the math portion of the test. I thought I would decorate the cookies by making some glitter sugar. The picture on this pin makes it look just like the kind of glitter you put on your crafts, so I had to give it a try.

When I clicked on the pin, it warned me that I could not continue because it was linked to inappropriate content, so I was forced to just follow the directions that were on the pin. It said to mix 1/2 teaspoon of food coloring with 1/4 cup of sugar. As usual, I had some issues with those directions.

1. I did not want 1/4 cup of sugar worth of just one color.

2. My food coloring comes in bottles with little dropper tips. Who has the patience to measure out 1/2 teaspoon by dropping tiny droplets into a measuring spoon?

3. I am almost out of most food coloring colors. I have no blue left at all, which really limits my color choices.

So here is what I did. It was not super successful, but in case you want to give it a try…

I put an unmeasured small amount of sugar into a bowl and added about 10-15 drops of red food coloring and stirred it around. I did the same for the other colors, but for the purple, I used red food coloring and blue Wilton icing coloring gel. That did not mix in quite as well as the food coloring, but the more I stirred, the better it got.

Then I spread each color out on a separate section of a cookie sheet and popped it in the oven at 350 for 10 minutes. I was not too impressed with how glittery it looked, so I put it in for a few minutes longer. It still looked nearly the same as it did when I put it in there. I took it out after about 15-18 minutes. It was somewhat sparkly, but nothing like the picture.

I am about 94% positive that the picture is actual craft glitter, not sugar. I was duped again by a scamming pin.

At least I have a batch of delicious cookies to show for it (I made a double batch so I could have some at home and still have enough to take to school) (Also, I ate a lot of them as they were cooling, so now I have a bit of a stomach ache).
image

image

Total cost: $0

Leave a Reply

