Day 193 – Letter Painting Technique

Tonight’s project was started last night. I painted a board with some cream colored paint so that it was nice and dry by tonight. Then I stuck some letter stickers on it to imitate this plaque I saw on Pinterest. I painted over it with two coats of chalkboard paint, and then peeled the letters off. I was a little worried that something would go wrong in this step, but it seemed to work out perfectly. It is pretty cute and I think it will look nice hanging on a wall in my kitchen.
image

On a side note: I made some chalkboard paint a few weeks ago, and saved it in a baby food jar. I went to use it tonight and I realized that it was not good anymore. It seems that some of the grout had hardened up within the paint. It was almost like there were little pebbles in it, so I had to make some more. I think it must be the kind of thing you need to make for immediate use.

Total Cost: $0

Leave a Reply

