Day 185 – Glitter Magnets

Way back at the beginning of the school year, I set up the filing cabinets in my classroom so they made a bulletin board. I thought that I had written a blog post about it, but as I searched, I came up with nothing (but it was quite interesting looking back at the early days…I was a lot more witty in those days.). Anyway, back to the point: I had a bunch of magnets on that board that were waiting to find a good use. I found uses for some of them, but today I realized that some of them must have decided to go for a walk and never return. I did not have enough magnets to hang all of my horseshoe crab facts and I had to borrow some.

That is why I decided to make some beautiful glitter magnets tonight so I can return the ones I borrowed this morning. I had a pack of tiny magnets left over from a failed magnet project I tried a long time ago, so I painted them with Mod Podge and sprinkled some glitter over them. It was a quick way to make boring little black magnets look instantly cute. Unfortunately, I only had Christmas glitter.

 

image

They are not as cutesy as I would have liked. I think pink, purple and blue would have been better choices, but you have to work with what you have. I think they will serve their purpose quite nicely.

Total cost: $0

Leave a Reply

