Day 170 – Price Matching at Walmart

This is a public service announcement: You should price match at Walmart!

The day after Christmas it was snowing, but that didn’t stop me from venturing out to get bargain Christmas decorations for next year. I knew I wanted to go to Walmart that day instead of Target because it was closer, which meant less snow driving. A DVD that I wanted to get (with a gift card) was on sale at Target, and I was disappointed that I wouldn’t be able to get there before the sale was over. Then, *imagine a light bulb going off* I remembered that Walmart price matches. I was able to get Season 3 of Modern Family for $16.99 instead of $34.99. Hello bargain!

But I figured that this price matching thing was limited to the random occasion when you found something you wanted in another store’s ad. Things like DVDs, games, and toys.

And then I realized you can price match food.

My life is forever changed.

I went online and found Walmart’s official policy. There are reasonable rules, but it told me that I did not need to print out the ads. I just went online to 4 or 5 of the major grocery stores that I could think of and looked up their weekly ads. I used a sheet of notebook paper and listed the store name, and then I wrote the specific food name, the size it had to be, and the price that it was on sale. Then I went shopping.

You have to be careful because Walmart’s prices really are quite low and sometimes it is not beneficial for you to use another store’s sale over Walmart’s regular price. One store had Dove shampoo on sale for 2/$6. Walmart had it for $2.98. It is only 2 cents different, but why in the world would you pay that 2 cents if you didn’t have to?

I organized the objects in my cart based on the store where I was price matching. I had a happy patient face on and rolled my way to the check-out. I probably should have gone to a different counter because the pin suggests you eye up your checker first and determine whether you think they will successfully ring you up. This lady called me over to her register (express, even though I think I had more than 20 items). I warned her that I had a bunch of price matching things, and she said that was fine, so I went with it.

She was really good, but I think I knew the price match policy better than she did. I really don’t have any complaints about her, and she was more than willing to deal with my situation. The only problem came when I was buying 2 packs of Gorton’s frozen shrimp. They were on sale for $2.99 at Safeway, but they cost $6.98 at Walmart and I had two manufacturer’s coupons (one that I cut out and one bonus one that was on the package). She rang them up for the sale price, but she was pretty sure I couldn’t use the coupons with the price match. We needed to wait a bit for a CSM to arrive. One CSM said I couldn’t use my coupon, and the other said that I could. I was pretty sure I should be able to because if I went to that other store, they would let me use the coupon in conjunction with their sale. It should be basically the same thing here. I wasn’t going to fight it, but I knew I was right. In the end, they let me use both coupons and I was on my way. I made sure to thank the lady profusely for dealing with me. I really don’t think it was all that much of a bother. Just slightly more time consuming than simply scanning the objects. There’s not much I won’t do for a good savings!

Total Walmart cost for the objects without price match: $29.50

Total cost using the price match: $16.79

Total savings: $12.71

Wahoo!

2 thoughts on “Day 170 – Price Matching at Walmart

Leave a Reply

