Day 162 – Biggest Loser Oatmeal Pancakes

One thing that I can’t get excited about is oatmeal–chunky lumpy gooey oatmeal. I really don’t like it. I do, however, like oats when they are involved in other foods. When I saw this recipe for Oatmeal Pancakes, I thought it would be fun to give them a try.

I eat breakfast every morning around 7:00, but depending on what I eat, I am starving by my 11:00 lunchtime. It is very frustrating! I have found that Frosted Mini Wheats (The Target generic brand is perfect. The Walmart generic brand is terrible.) or a Whole Wheat English Muffin with peanut butter and honey keep me going. I am appropriately hungry by lunchtime, but not insanely early like with other foods. These have suited me well for a long time, but I am interested in other alternatives that I can stomach…NOT gross oatmeal.

I decided that I would make some of these pancakes tonight to heat up for tomorrow’s breakfast. It was pretty simple and I actually made them all while my dinner was cooking.

 

Here is the recipe:

 

Ingredients:
6 egg whites
1 cup rolled oats, dry
1 cup cottage cheese
2 teaspoons sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla

Instructions:

In a blender, blend all ingredients until smooth. Heat a griddle or large non-stick skillet over medium-low heat. Spray with non-stick cooking spray. For each pancake pour 1/4 cup of batter onto griddle. Flip when they start to bubble. Cook until golden brown. Repeat with remaining batches, spraying the griddle as needed. Makes about 10 pancakes.

Number of Servings: 3

Nutritional Info Per Serving:
181 Calories, 2.7g Fat, 10mg Cholesterol, 361mg Sodium, 20g Carbs, 2.8g Fiber

 

I gave one a try while the others were cooking and my verdict is that they are “alright.” They are not AMAZING, but certainly not gross. I think they are kind of bland. I can’t figure out what they need to make them better, but I have a few ideas.

~Sugar…but that would probably counter act the healthiness of them.

~Fresh fruit…but it is winter and berries are pretty expensive this time of year. All I have are oranges, but they might be pretty tasty.

~Syrup…which is the same thing as the sugar.

 

Tomorrow is the time that will tell…will they take me through to lunch? Will they taste good enough to eat as a meal? We shall see…

 

image

Total cost: $5.50 (which includes a giant container of oats that I will use again, and I have extra cottage cheese left over to make another batch. I also have enough egg whites to make another batch. It seems expensive, but per pancake, it is probably pretty cheap.)

Leave a Reply

