Day 158 – Eating Around the World

Some people enjoy trying a beer or wine around the world at Epcot. By around 7:30 tonight, we could easily spot these people by their wobbliness or their need to shout to the people standing right beside them.

Instead of drinking around the world, I thought it would be fun to try to eat around the world. I found and ate a meal or snack in each country at Epcot. The countries are set up in a circle around a lagoon. From the way that I entered the world showcase, I began in Canada. It was a struggle to find a snack here. There were not many shops and there were not many counter service restaurants. After a long time of searching, I found a bag of potato chips that are in fact a product of Canada. They were pretty tasty and slightly different than the kinds that I have had in the US.

Next, I traveled to the UK. I found a lot of great treats, but I was pretty hungry at this point, so I got some fish and chips. Very tasty.

The United States came next, but I did not get something specifically at this stop because earlier in the day I was starving, so I decided to get some ice cream. That was in the actual real live America, so I decided that counted. Unfortunately, I did not take a picture of it.

France had an amazing patisserie where we got a Napoleon. It was sheets of puff pastry layered with delicious custard. Y.U.M.

I learned something in Morocco that I will never forget. A lentil is a bean; more importantly, I HATE lentils. There were no good snacks in Morocco. I saw some Baklava, but I do not really like that, so I thought it would be adventurous to try some Moroccan side dish. I saw lentil salad and I thought that would be a good try. You see…I was getting lentils mixed up with orzo, which is a pasta. Lentils and orzo are nowhere near similar. One is gross and one is tasty. I could not eat the lentil salad. At least it wasn’t super expensive.

In Japan I had a Kaki-Gori, which is a  Japanese snow cone. Mine was rainbow flavored, which had tangerine, mango and cherry.

Having just had a snow cone, I decided that I should take a break from major sugary treats, which eliminated a lot of things from Italy. I found some cute little candies there.  They were very tasty!

In Germany, I had a Bavarian hand-twisted pretzel. From the looks of things, I thought it was going to be along the same level as those that you microwave from the grocery store. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was slightly different. It had a buttery flavor and was a little more dry. I definitely liked it a lot though.

By the time I reached China, I decided that I had had enough snacks and was ready for another actual meal. I had a plate of orange chicken and steamed rice. This might have been one of my favorites for the night. I really enjoyed it!

Norway had a little bakery where I couldn’t decide what to get. I ended up getting a sweet pretzel with chocolate and vanilla coating. It tasted very much like a breakfast pastry. Very delicious.

Finally, in Mexico, I had a Mazipan candy, which is a peanut candy. It was ok. It was not as great as some of the other treats, but it was not disgusting either.

These are in no particular order:
image

image

Eating around the world is very filling and very tiring. I hope there are not a lot of typos in this post because I am not up for rereading!

Goodnight.

 

Total cost: I lost count and I am too tired to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

