Day 155 – Crock Pot Pork Barbecue

Pinterest for dinner and it was was delicious!

I bought an 8 pound pork something or other roast from Sam’s Club to feed 8 people. I am not really very knowledgeable about cuts of meat, so when I saw how big it was, I figured it would be good for everyone.

I went to put it in the crock pot today and I realized that it had a huge bone going through the middle. So much for 8 pounds of solid meat! Maybe I should have been more observant. Since it was time to get cooking and there was not another option, I continued with my plan, hoping that this would work like I wanted it to.

I poured root beer over the pork in the crock pot. The recipe called for 12 ounces of root beer for 2 pounds of meat. I figured that would be 48 ounces of root beer for my 8 pounds. The problem is that the roast was SO huge that it barely fit in my crock pot, so I decided to wing it and just pour some root beer in until it seemed full enough.

I suppose that worked successfully because when I came home this evening, it was nice and juicy and ready to go.

It took a bit of time for me to get it off of the bone and to get all of the fat off, but once that was done, I poured some barbecue sauce over it and stirred it up. I can’t particularly say how much I poured on it. I had a Sam’s Club sized bottle of sauce and I did not use that entire thing. Maybe half. It seemed just barbecuey enough without being too saucy.

I would definitely do this again. I thought it was very tasty and quite simple (minus the whole bone thing).
image

 

Total cost: $15

Pin it here

Leave a Reply

