Day 151 – Cake Batter Rice Krispie Treats

This weekend I gave cake batter pancakes a try. They were successfully tasty, but they also left me with over a half bag of cake mix that I had no use for.

So instead of letting it go to waste, I decided to make cake batter Rice Krispie treats. The recipe told me to make it on the stove, which I don’t know if I have ever done before.  My first instinct was to adapt it to the microwave way that I already sort of knew. I went to use the directions on the bag of marshmallows to remind me how long to microwave…and that only had stove directions. I took it as a sign that I should just follow the recipe exactly as it was shown. I think they turned out pretty tasty.

 

Whenever I make Rice Krispie treats, I am reminded of that old commercial where the kids are telling each other how easy they are to make. All you do is pour some ingredients into a bowl, walk out of the kitchen and sigh, and then they are finished. That simple.

The real version is pretty much that easy, just a lot more sticky. I would have liked to have a little more of the cake batter taste, but overall, I am pleased with how they turned out.
image

Total cost: $1.07

Leave a Reply

