Day 145 – Magazine Holder

I need a magazine holder for a future Pinterest project, so it worked out perfectly that I was able to find a project for making a magazine holder. All I needed was a box, fabric and some spray adhesive.

Since I am becoming a fabric scrap hoarder, I had quite a bit of fabric to choose from. I also had a box that was the perfect size from a shower organizer that I recently bought. The box was a little tall, so I had to cut it down. I used a magazine holder that I already had to trace the shape that I needed to cut. The only thing I wish that I did was cut it straight on the diagonal instead of with the curve that the professional magazine holder had. That caused my fabric to seem a little loose along the diagonal edges, but since the future of this holder will be in a cabinet, I figured it was ok. Also since it will be in the cabinet, and because the fabric was very thick, I decided to forego the idea of lining the inside with cardstock. I think that would cause it to look worse in this case and I think that it will be fine without it.

For the most part, I think this project was quite successful. I would just recommend using spray adhesive in a well-ventilated area on a nice sunny day instead of inside a house in the winter with the door cracked while it was raining.

Total cost: $5 for the spray adhesive. It was a little pricey for my liking, but I figure I can use it for future projects too.
image

Pin it here

Leave a Reply

