Day 132 – Butterfinger Bars

Over the past 4 months of Pinteresting, I have done a few projects that are supposed to be knock offs of store bought things. Some have been successes and some have failed miserably (remember that “healthy version of a Wendy’s Frosty?”). I am pleased to announce that today’s project can go in the success category.
I saw this recipe a while ago for making homemade Butterfingers. I was surprised to find that one of the main ingredients is candy corn. I know from prior experience that candy corn is nearly impossible to find after Halloween, so when it was being clearanced I got a bag while I could.
I had to melt the candy corn and then mix in peanut butter. This posed a challenge because the melted candy corn was not as smooth as I thought it would be and it kind of started hardening before everything was sufficiently mixed.
I put it in a pan to harden. When I went to cut it into squares, I was very surprised at how difficult it was to cut. A lot of the squares crumbled apart before I could put them in the chocolate.
Then I tasted one and I decided they are completely worth the few frustrations that I encountered. They really taste like a Butterfinger. The texture is a little different but not a bad different. It is more chewey instead of flaky. Definitely tasty!

image

Total cost: $6

Leave a Reply

