Day 90 – Butter Pecan Cake

One day this past August, Chris’s uncle commissioned me to make a butter pecan cake since he had tried it at a restaurant and said it tasted just like the ice cream. I do not really like butter pecan ice cream. I guess I have never really had more than a taste of it, but that’s all I have needed to base my opinion.

But anyway…I made this cake today. It wasn’t particularly difficult to make. Very similar to any cake that I have made from scratch. One shocker for me was that the recipe for the frosting called for 8-8 ½ cups of powdered sugar. EIGHT TO EIGHT AND A HALF CUPS OF POWDERED SUGAR! WHAT!?! When I was scanning the recipe for ingredients, I noticed it said powdered sugar, so I checked that off as an ingredient that I already owned. I thought that was a bit ridiculous, so I only put 6 and a little bit cups of powdered sugar in it. I also adjusted the evaporated milk that I added because of the lower amount of powdered sugar. I don’t know what it was supposed to taste like with the extra sugar, but I think it was a-ok with a little less.

I had a taste of the cake, and I have to say, it was pretty tasty. Not my favorite cake ever, but it was not bad.

 
image

Total Cost

$6

Pin it here

Leave a Reply

