Day 88 – Gift Bag

You know what dollar store wrapping paper is good for? Wrapping a present and then throwing it away. That is all.

If you remember all the way back to Day 1, I tried covering a cereal box with wrapping paper to create paper holders for my classroom. Shortly thereafter I threw that piece of junk in the trash because the wrapping paper did not do a suitable job.

Tonight I tried making a gift bag out of that same wrapping paper. I always seem to be in need of gift bags at the spur of the moment (I am a bad pre-planner when it comes to that kind of thing), so I wanted to test this out to see how well it would work. I was also thinking that I could make them to wrap some Christmas presents too.

Well, I am not really sold on this being a perfect substitute for the cute bags you can buy. It’s a bargain for sure, but with this paper, it is not very sturdy at all. I have not put a gift in it, so I don’t know how it will stand up to that weight, but I do not think it will do very well.

I am not totally against making more of these, but I am not sold on it either. If I am in a pinch, I would surely make one, but other than that, I think I would rather buy a cute one.

(I do not particularly like this tutorial either. I feel that it is pretty hard to follow and not very descriptive. There is probably a better one out there somewhere)
image

 

Total cost: $0
Pin it here

Leave a Reply

