Day 86 – Take-Out Menu Organizer

One of the most annoying things that I have in my house are take-out menus. They are all different sizes, and they need to be somewhere handy for when we want to place an order, but I can never seem to find a good place to put them. When we moved in here 4 years ago, they started living on top of the refrigerator in a sprawling mess. I am not a fan of sprawling messes, especially when I need to quickly find something. That prompted me to put them all in a zipper pouch that I kept on top of the refrigerator. The pouch was too small to completely contain the menus, so it was really more like an envelope than a container. It worked well for a while, but I knew there had to be a better way.

This is why I love Pinterest…you think you have a problem solved, and then up pops a solution that you didn’t even know you were looking for.

I stuck a page protector to the back of my cabinet with some sticky tabs to hold my menus. It is a little high for me to easily reach, so I cut a bit of the front layer of the page protector out so I can get the menus in and out more easily.

I like that this organizing solution will (hopefully) keep me from hanging on to too much old stuff. I found a lot of unnecessary things in my old pouch. You may expect that I had a few extra menus from some pizza places who sometimes send them in the mail. I also had a menu or two for places that are no longer open. The most surprising things, however, were 4 different schedules for 4 different baseball teams for the 2011 season. It is my goal to keep baseball schedules out of the new menu organizer.

image

 

Total cost: $0

One thought on “Day 86 – Take-Out Menu Organizer

  1. Pingback: Update | 365 Days of Pinterest

Leave a Reply

