Day 73 – Parent Teacher Conference Sheets

Today is Halloween, and I didn’t want to be all non-Halloweenie, but when you don’t have kids, and you live in the middle of nowhere, Halloween is kind of just another night. So in honor of having a non-Halloween post, here are some riddles to tickle your funny bone…

What do you get when you cross a vampire with a snowman? Frostbite

What’s a vampire’s favorite holiday? Fangs-giving

How do you fix a broken jack-o-lantern? With a pumpkin patch

Where do ghosts mail their letters? At the ghost office

 

I thought about doing a Halloween activity today, but most things would involve making a decoration or something, and it is about time to clean up all things Halloween, not make more. So I decided to get ready for Parent Teacher Conferences.

I pretty much hate conference day. By the time the day is over, it feels refreshing to just have a regular conversation with a non-parent human. There is this persona that I put on so that I can make it through the day. I am overly friendly and smiley and have to word things so carefully as to not offend parents of problem children. It is physically exhausting. Usually I make a little note sheet of some positives and negatives to touch on in the conference so that I have a talking point, which usually works pretty well.

Then I saw this conference slip that included a lot more information that my little + – note did not. Forms are hard for teachers to just download and use because different schools do things in many different ways. I like this form because it allows me to fill out the things applicable to our school and classroom.

One thing that will be different this year is to be co-conferencing with my co-teachers. That should be a little relieving because we can share the pressure. It will be nice to have these sheets because sometimes (I hate to admit) the kids all run together and I am not so good at thinking on the spot about how well they are doing. I have some kids for reading group and others for math group and since both things happen at the same table and we do a lot of switching, I, for the life of me, cannot get a handle on who I have in my groups without looking at my notes. This little lifesaver should fix that.

I am also going to send home these little reminder notes because I think they are pretty cute and useful.

Total cost

$0 (but lots of time filling out these lovely things.)

Pin them here

One thought on “Day 73 – Parent Teacher Conference Sheets

  1. Pingback: Update | 365 Days of Pinterest

Leave a Reply

