Day 57 – Mini Caramel Apples

Tonight I tried mini caramel apples. As I have previously mentioned, sometimes I have a hard time following directions. It’s not that I don’t want to, it’s just that I think I can do it without looking…well maybe I should have read this actual post instead of just going by the picture. I saw this Pin a while ago where it appeared to be apple chunks covered in delicious caramel. I figured I could do that with no problem. I was talking to my mom about it and she said how she read about using a melon baller to get the apple pieces to be nice and round like an apple. So I combined what I thought I saw in the picture with what I talked to my mom about and got to work. The melon baller thing did not work well at all. The apple was very thick and it kind of just broke the apple piece away from the core. It’s ok though, because the picture lady cut hers into chunks anyway, so mine were basically like hers. The first batch of caramel that I melted in the microwave got burnt, so I tried again for a much shorter time, stirring in between. That was successful, but it hardened pretty quickly when it was out in the air. I had to heat it up a few more times so I could keep dipping. The other problem that I am encountering is that I did not think about putting them on waxed paper. Pretty much whenever you pick one up, the sticks pop out and the caramel stays put. I have to dig at it with my fingers to get the caramel to come off the plate. It is pretty sticky, but so delicious! I’ll be right back. I need to go get another one…

Total cost:

< $2

Pin it here

Leave a Reply

