Day 49 – Soft Pretzel Bites

Today was a nice lazy Sunday, so I had the perfect amount of time to make soft pretzel bites. After church I went to the grocery store, then came home, put on some warm-ups (I hear warm-ups are out of style, but I am trying to bring them back), and got to work on the pretzels. It was about 12:00 when I finally got started and they were not completely finished until about 3:00. Part of that time was an hour waiting for it to rise. Then I had to roll the dough into a long rope, and cut it into 1-inch pieces. After that, those pieces went into boiling baking soda and water. I am not sure what this specifically did, but I imagine that it made the pieces a little puffier. Next, I brushed melted butter on them and added salt (I accidentally put them in the oven without the salt, so I had to take them out to put it on after they had been cooking 1 or 2 minutes). While they were cooking, I made the cheese sauce. That was really easy, but it made way too much. I think we would have been fine with half of that recipe.

I would make this again, but I think it would make a good snow day activity. It was pretty hands-on and time consuming. Not bad at all, just long.

My new goal is to take better food pictures.

 

I have been interested in starting a “Suggested Pinterest Projects” list. I am not sure if I should do this through Facebook or WordPress. I have had some people personally tell me they would like for me to try certain things, so if you would like me to try something, send me a note either through Facebook or through the comments on this blog. I would love to hear from you!

Total cost:

$1: Yeast

$2.18: Cheese

$0.67: butter (for 1 stick)

Total: $3.85

The other ingredients were things like flour and sugar. I have not yet figured a way to break down the cost of these things, so we are going to pretend they are $0 since I always have them on hand.

Pin it here

2 thoughts on “Day 49 – Soft Pretzel Bites

    • I was hoping they would taste like Auntie Anne’s, but they didn’t. They were still good though. It made a whole lot, and I tried saving them, but they never looked as good later as they did that day. I would probably half the recipe if I was making it again. I even had extra people at my house that day, and I sent some home with them, but I still had a lot left over.

Leave a Reply

