Day 24

Some people are “green” people. I think I am an almost green wannabe, and then I remember that I like throwing away my dirty tissues, it is a pain in the neck to unplug my phone charger after every use, and sometimes chemicals clean stuff better than nature. Tonight I attempted some natural cleaning. The first thing I did was fill a bowl with ½ cup of vinegar and 2 cups of water and microwaved it for 4 minutes. When it was done, I wiped it down with a cloth. I was about to use a paper towel, but then I remembered that I should try to be earth friendly. It worked “ok.” Not great. I mean my microwave was not really that dirty. There was a strip on the top of it that I must have missed last time I cleaned it (with chemicals and a paper towel). It allowed some specks to be wiped with ease, but there were a few that did not come off. Maybe if I lived in Panem and the Capitol told me I could not use 409 or Clorox Clean-Up, then I would use this. Or else I would start a revolution against the Capitol…

I also tried using 2 tablespoons of baking soda in 1 quart of warm water to clean my refrigerator. Sure, it worked, but I am not convinced it was any more effective than using just warm water. I did not really have many spots that needed to be wiped. There was 1, and it came off, but I am pretty sure water would have done the same. There were some bits of things on the shelves, and the solution wiped those up, but seriously, it was a wet sponge…what would you expect to happen here?

Overall, I was not wowed. It was fine. Average. It would do if I was in a pinch. But for now, I will stick to unnatural cleaners.

Total Cost

$0

Leave a Reply

