Day 22

Sometimes when people do things differently than me, I tend to be a little too judgmental. I felt that way when I was doing this project, and upon reflection, my original post was pretty mean. I am not a mean person, and I do not want to come across as the kind of person that says things to get a laugh at the expense of someone else. I used this flat iron cleaner to clean my flat iron. It definitely worked, but it was not my favorite idea of a cleaner. I do not like to get my hands messy. I was supposed to mix baking soda and hydrogen peroxide together and rub it on with my fingers. I couldn’t find a recipe at first (but it turns out there is one on there), so I just mixed a bit of each substance together with my pointy tipped comb. That made for a useful stirring tool. Then I rubbed it on with a paper towel. It worked, but I think that I like my (generic) Clorox wipes better than this goo. They are faster and less mess on my hands and counter.

Also, since my flat iron is the kind that you can use on wet hair, it has holes for the steam to escape. The baking soda-peroxide mixture really loved getting in those holes. I had to use toothpicks to get it all out. We will find out soon how much I actually got out when I have really uneven highlights show up in my hair from the peroxide. I can’t wait for that to happen!

I will stick to my old method of cleaning it off every so often with a wipe.

Before

After

Total Cost:

$0

 

Leave a Reply

