Day 18

This blog is about Pinterest. That is why I named it “365 Days of Pinterest” (which I genuinely thought I had thought of myself until I Googled it…Apparently a lot of other people have thought of the same exact name and idea…Story of my life…) Anyway… I usually keep to the topic, but today has been a bit of an emotional one and I thought we could all use a reminder of how God is in control, even if sometimes we don’t understand some things that happen. I have two old friends who I have not spoken to in person in a very long time. It is not that I do not still feel a friendship with these people, but our lives took us different places, and we have not been able to keep in touch as much as we may have liked. Life does that sometimes. Both friends have 2 year old daughters who I believe were put on this earth to change the world. In Jeremiah 1:5, God tells us “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” This can be useful to our lives as adults, but also as a reminder that every child of God, even the tiny ones, are here to fulfill a purpose. The hardest part is that we do not know what the purpose may be, and things may happen that we do not understand, and maybe because I am a hopeless hoper, but I can’t help but put that hope into God that when bad things happen in our lives, there has to be something good that will come from it somewhere, some time. The hardest part is not knowing where that good is, or if we will ever find it. One of my friends that I mentioned previously just went through the loss of her two-year-old. That is something that no one should ever have to deal with and I struggle to find a reason why a God of Love would do that to anyone. The best solace that I can find is that there is a plan and it is way better than we could ever comprehend. Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6. That brings me to my second friend with an almost two-year-old. This baby was diagnosed with a rare disease on the day she was born. Not just any old run-of-the-mill-rare-disease, but one where only 60 people in the history of the world have ever been diagnosed. The doctors said she would never be anything more than a vegetable. She has had to endure more surgeries and doctors visits than most grown adults, and has had a feeding tube, trach, and tons of other things I could never begin to describe. Every day of this amazing girl’s life has been an inspiration to me, as well as many others, I am sure. That little vegetable got to come home from the hospital when she was 3 months old, she has since learned to walk, talk, eat, play, and do so many other things that doctors have said would never happen. Today was the day when she got to have her trach removed, which is so completely joyous, it is hard to contain the excitement. It has been a difficult day to have such opposite emotions, but it is always comforting to remember that God’s plan is in action every second of every day, and it is our job to go with it and learn to live life the best we can.

Which brings me to Pinterest. I choose to live my life through Pinterest these days. I do not know why I decided to start this blog, but maybe it was because God had a plan for me to write about these little girls who I do not actually know, but I love their Moms, so in turn, I love them.

Thanks for bearing with me on that little off-the-topic part, but here comes the moment you have all been waiting for…

Healthy Chocolate Muffins Made With Greek Yogurt. Oh. My. Gosh. You need to go to the grocery store tomorrow (or today if it is Friday) and make these. Seriously. If you are lucky enough to work at DES and you arrive early enough to try one of these, then you should rejoice because you will get to be a part of something great.

I was a little unsure when I read in the recipe that you put all of the ingredients into a blender except the chocolate chips, and blend it all together. I have never used a blender as a mixer before, but it worked surprisingly well. I actually just got a blender for Christmas and have not really had many reasons to need to use it yet. This is a perfect reason. The recipe calls for oats instead of flour, so it needs to cut up the oats into small enough pieces to act as a flour-like substance. There are not many chocolate chips in there, and I think they are what sets this over the edge in the delicious factor, but I sprinkled some on top, so each of them has a few. The recipe called for having them cook for 10 minutes and then putting the remaining chips on top to finish cooking. I think I should have put them on a little sooner than 10 minutes because they kind of just look like they are sitting on top. It’s ok though. They are still so good (did I mention that yet?).

The best thing about these muffins: THEY ARE ONLY 58 CALORIES! I can’t be sure that mine are specifically only 58 calories because I do not know what size the original maker made hers, but they have to be somewhere close to that. I also made some mini muffins. I can’t be sure of how many calories are in these muffins, so I have created this little word problem for you:

Mrs. T. made chocolate muffins for Goodie Day. Each regular sized muffin has 58 calories. The mini muffins are much smaller than the regular sized muffins. Let m represent the calories in the mini muffins. Write an expression that compares the number of calories in the two different sized muffins. 4 million imaginary bonus points to anyone with the correct answer.

I am a really big dork.

Total Cost:

$1

(I had all of the ingredients already except for the Greek yogurt)

You can read more about the second little girl by clicking “Life as a Leach” to the right of the screen.

Leave a Reply

