Day 7

Tomorrow is the first day with students and it is after 11:00 and I am still up and Pinteresting. The old me would be really worried right now. I’m not sure why, but I am just feeling like tomorrow is a regular day. I will probably be frantic in the morning, trying to remember all of the things I think I have forgotten. For now though, I am just admiring my new calendar cover.

I got this fabric in the clearance section of Walmart’s fabrics. I am so glad they decided to sell fabric again. I adapted this Pin about making a composition book cover. I suppose measurement is really as important as everyone makes it out to be because this cover happens to be a bit snug. In other words, the old red cover that used to be on it…

Imagine a red plastic book-looking thing with a silver dolphin in the middle. (I am having technical difficulties getting this picture to appear)

…wouldn’t fit. But when I took it off, it is perfect. I think I need to put some cardboard in there to make it a little more sturdy. Sadly, just this morning I decided it was time to part with my saved cereal boxes from my failed project attempt on Day 1. I should have another box ready by later this week though. Overall, I am happy with how it turned out:

 

It is a much more vibrant blue than this picture makes you think.

 

From afar it looks really great. It won’t be winning any sewing competitions or anything. I messed up and had to remove my stitching about 4 times, not counting the fact that it is too small. What I thought would be a less-than-an-hour-project turned into a two-hour project. Oops.

 

 

Today’s total:

<$1.50 because I still have enough fabric left to do some other stuff.

Leave a Reply

