Day 71 – Papillon Scarf

I saved today’s project to do in case we lost power from Hurricane Sandy, but when I woke up to electricity this morning, it still seemed like a good crocheting day.

Some people I know like to make fun of me for crocheting. They actually try to insult me by calling me “Mom-Mom K.” Then they get their 8-year-old kid to also call me Mom-Mom while I am trying to just relax by the poolside. Whatever. I can take it. Some other people I know actually think that crocheting is a valuable pastime…and no-they are not grandmas. They are my age thank-you-very-much!

I found this scarf and I thought that it looked very pretty. I decided to take a look at it to see if I could decipher the pattern. Usually I do not have much luck with reading crocheting patterns because they are abbreviated and there are a lot of things I don’t know. I pretty much know how to do 3 different stitches. Lucky for me, this pattern used only stitches that I already knew.

I started this a few days ago, thinking it would go pretty quickly. It doesn’t take a really long time to crochet a scarf, but I was disappointed to find that I could not do it in just 1 or 2 sittings. I made a couple of spiral scarves last winter, and I was able to finish them pretty quickly. This one is a little slower, but pretty easy once you get started. One tiny problem I had was deciding on an appropriate length. Sometimes I like to wear scarves that just drape over my neck, and sometimes I like to wrap them around in a circle like in the picture of the example. There are also a lot of other ways to wear a scarf, but I wanted to make sure it would be appropriate for different situations. I think that it is a pretty good length. The great thing about it is that if I hate its length, I can always add on or take some off later. (but I doubt that will be necessary)
image

 

Total cost:

$2.50

Pin it here

One thought on “Day 71 – Papillon Scarf

  1. Pingback: Update | 365 Days of Pinterest

Leave a comment